SMALL ESTATE AFFIDAVIT



For Transfer of Property When a Person has Died

FORMS and INSTRUCTIONS

For Use in Pima County

© Superior Court of Arizona in Maricopa & Pima Counties ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

SELF-SERVICE CENTER

SMALL ESTATE AFFIDAVIT OF TRANSFER

This packet contains court forms and instructions to file a small estate affidavit of transfer. Items in **BOLD** are forms that you will need to file with the Court. Non-bold items are instructions or procedures. Do not copy or file those pages!

Order	File No.	Title	# pages
1		Table of contents (this page)	1
2		Checklist: You may use this packet if	1
3		"Affidavit for Collection of All Personal Property"	3
4		"Probate Cover Sheet" and Interpreter Request (Only needed if transferring real property)	3
5		"Affidavit for Transfer of Title to Real Property"	5
6		PROCEDURES: What to Do After Completing the Affidavit(s)	2

The documents you have received are copyrighted by the Superior Court of Arizona in Maricopa County. You have permission to use them for any lawful purpose. These forms shall not be used to engage in the unauthorized practice of law. The Court assumes no responsibility and accepts no liability for actions taken by users of these documents, including reliance on their contents. The documents are under continual revision and are current only for the day they were received. It is strongly recommended that you verify on a regular basis that you have the most current documents.

SELF-SERVICE CENTER

SMALL ESTATE AFFIDAVIT(S) FOR TRANSFER

(A.R.S. § 14-3971)

FOR TRANSFER OF PROPERTY WHEN PERSON HAS DIED

- ✓ The value of all of the personal property (cash, bank accounts, stocks and bonds, cars, jewelry, money owed to the person who died, etc.) in the estate of the person who died (the "deceased"), wherever that property is located, less liens and encumbrances, does not exceed \$75,000, and at least 30 days have passed since the death, and/or
- ✓ The assessed value of the real property (land and permanent structures on the land) in the
 deceased's estate located in Arizona, less liens and encumbrances as of the date of the
 deceased's death, does not exceed \$100,000, and at least 6 months have passed since the
 death, and/or
- ✓ You are the surviving spouse, and you want to collect up to \$5000 in wages owed to the deceased, and/or
- ✓ You are entitled to the real property and/or personal property, and have the legal right ("legal standing") to submit an affidavit claiming the property because:
 - You are named in a will to receive the property and you can prove it; OR
 - The person who died did not have a will, but you are related to the decedent as:
 - 1. Surviving Spouse, or
 - 2. **Child**, if there is no surviving spouse or there is, but he or she is not your parent and your parent, the decedent, had separate or community property, **or**
 - 3. Parent, if there is no surviving spouse or child, or
 - 4. **Brother or Sister**, if there is no surviving spouse or child or parent, **AND**
 - If there are people with equal or greater right than you to the property, they have all assigned their entire interests in the estate to you, which is proven by the copy of the documents they signed to this effect that you can attach to the affidavit.

READ ME: Consulting a lawyer before filing documents with the court may help prevent unexpected results. If you need to consult a Lawyer, the Pima County Bar Association offers a Lawyer Referral Service that provides half-hour consultations for a low cost. http://www.pimacountybar.org/

The Clerk's office cannot provide legal advice. Employees may be able to offer instruction about how and where to file appropriate paperwork, but will not provide help on issues of law

_	
	n Filing:ess (if not protected):
	State, Zip Code:
	hone:
	Address:
Lawye	er's Bar Number:
Licens	sed Fiduciary Number:
Repre	senting Self, without a Lawyer or Attorney for Petitioner OR Respondent
	AFFIDAVIT FOR COLLECTION OF ALL PERSONAL PROPERTY
_	E OF ARIZONA) COUNTY)ss
By si corre	igning this affidavit, I swear or affirm under penalty of perjury that its contents are true and ect.
1.	INFORMATION ABOUT THE DECEASED (THE PERSON WHO DIED):
	Name of person who died:
	Date of death:
	Place of death:
2.	30-DAY REQUIREMENT: More than thirty (30) days have gone by since the person died.
3.	RELATIONSHIP: My relationship to the person who died is: (explain)
4.	VALUE OF PERSONAL PROPERTY. The value of all the personal property in the deceased person's estate, wherever located, minus the amount of liens and encumbrances on the property, is not

- greater than \$75,000.00.
- 5. PERSONAL REPRESENTATIVE. To the best of my knowledge, no one has filed an Application or Petition for Appointment of a Personal Representative and no Application or Petition has been granted in any state OR if an application has been granted the personal representative has been discharged or more than one year has elapsed since a closing statement has been filed and the amount does not exceed \$75,000.00.

				Arizona Case No
		ENT. I am the claiming property because: (Chec		personal property and I am entitled to payment opply.)
	I am	named in the Will of the p	erson who died, a	a copy of which is attached to this Affidavit.
	The c	deceased had no Will, but	I am entitled to the	ne property under law because (check ONE)
		I am the spouse of the	person who died	;
		· ·		and there is no surviving spouse, or there is to my parent and the deceased had separate or
		I am the parent of the	person who died,	and there is no surviving spouse or child;
		I am a brother or siste or parent.	er of the person	who died, and there is no surviving spouse, chi
		The person died without	ut a will and I am	the sole heir.
	have		interests in the	le with equal or greater right than I have to the prestate, which is proven by the copy of the taching to this affidavit.
	prope	erty have disclaimed their	ENTIRE interests	ne people with equal or greater right than I have in the estate, which is proven by the copy of attaching to this affidavit.
		TION OF PROPERTY erty. Attach extra pages if	•	who died owned the following personal propert
Desc	ription		Value	Location, or Who Has Property Now
			\$	_
			\$	_
			\$	

TOTAL VALUE: \$_____

Arizona Case No.	

	Description	Amount owed	Name of Who Owes t	he Debt
		\$		
		\$		
		\$		
		\$		
	TOTAL AMOUNT OWED: \$			
9.	This affidavit is made under Arizona La making claim to personal property of the		Arizona Revised Statutes,	for the purpose o
	The second secon			
OA	TH OR AFFIRMATION: The conte		are true and correct under	penalty of perjury.
			are true and correct under Date	penalty of perjury.
Signa	TH OR AFFIRMATION: The conte			penalty of perjury.
Signa Print	TH OR AFFIRMATION: The conte			penalty of perjury.
Signa Print	TH OR AFFIRMATION: The conte			penalty of perjury.
Signa Print STA	TH OR AFFIRMATION: The content of th	ents of this document	Date	
Signa Print STA	TH OR AFFIRMATION: The conte	ents of this document	Date	



ARIZONA SUPERIOR COURT IN PIMA COUNTY

REQUEST FOR LINGUISTIC ACCOMMODATIONS

IN THE MATTER OF) CASE NUMBER:
	\ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \
	an Interpreter and Attorney Requesting an Interpreter:
_	Attorney:
2. Address:	
3. City, State, Zip:	
4. Phone:	
5. E-mail:	
6. Is the interpreter for a party in the case?	Check party below:
	ent
Witness(es) or Victim/Family Member(s)	are for: Defense or Prosecution or Pro Per
7. The hearing date is on:	at:
NOTE: If you have a civil or domestic division set this matter AT 10:30 A.M.	matter and are requesting an interpreter, please ask that the assigned OR LATER IN THE DAY.
Do not file for a Waiver or Deferral of Fo to pay.	ees as an interpreter will be provided to you at no cost regardless of ability
9. The primary language is:	Region/Dialect:
10. This is also a request for an ADA acc	commodation and the type of interpreter needed is an:
☐ American Sign Language Interp	reter
☐ CART (can read and articulate,	and need to follow the proceedings in written English)
☐ Mexican Sign Language Interpr	eter Other:
11.	e of the Clerk of the Court for imaging in the case file
520-724-8872 a copy of this form 1	ne Court Interpreter by email to: ctlnterpreter@sc.pima.gov or by fax to: l0 business days in advance of my hearing. The standard s
13. I have forwarded a copy to the cour	t division that will hear my case.

SUPERIOR COURT OF ARIZONA IN PIMA COUNTY

PROBATE INFORMATION COVER SHEET

FOR CLERK'S USE ONLY

		Case N	Number:				
INFORMATION ABOUT THE		person proposed ease check one)) I	Guardian Conservator Personal Rep	resentativ	e (executor)
NAME:			D	ATE	OF BIRTH:		
MAILING ADDRESS:							
STREET ADDRESS: (if diffe	rent)						
TELEPHONE (Home):			SSN:			<u> </u>	
TELEPHONE (Cellular):			EMAIL:	_			
TELEBUIONE (Manda)			CERTIFIC	CATI			
					(for State-	-Licensed	Fiduciaries ONLY)
RELATIONSHIP TO THE WA	ARD OR (if an esta	ate matter) THE [DECEDENT:				
PHYSICAL DESCRIPTION:	RACE:	<u> </u> <u> </u> <u> </u> <u> </u>	IEIGHT		W	EIGHT:	
	EYE COLOR:		HAIR COLO			GENDE	R:
INFORMATION ABOUT THE		person propose lease check one)		}: 	Guardian Conservator Personal Rep	resentativ	/e (executor)
NAME:				ATE	OF BIRTH:		
MAILING ADDRESS:							
STREET ADDRESS: (if diffe	erent)						
TELEPHONE (Home):			SSN:				
TELEPHONE (Cellular):			EMAIL:	_			
TELEPHONE (Work):			CERTIFIC	CAT			
				ı	(for State	-Licensed	Fiduciaries ONLY)
RELATIONSHIP TO THE WA	ARD OR (if an est	ate matter) THE I	DECEDENT:				1
PHYSICAL DESCRIPTION:	RACE:	1	HEIGHT		V	WEIGHT:	
	EYE COLOR:		HAIR COLO	OR:		GENDE	ER:
A person needing a guardi	an or conservato	or is the " ward ".	. A person w	vho	died is the " de	cedent".	
INFORMATION ABOUT T	HE WARD	or THE DECE	DENT				
NAME:			D	ATE	OF BIRTH:		
						GENDER	:
MAILING ADDRESS :							
STREET ADDRESS (if differ	rent):						
			_	SN:			
TELEPHONE (Cellular):				MAI	L:		
ADDITIONAL WARDS							
Information listed sepa	arately.		D	ATE	OF DEATH:		

INFORMATION ABOUT THE PETITIONER, the person	filing these papers.
NAME:	
MAILING ADDRESS:	
TELEPHONE:	EMAIL:
INFORMATION ABOUT PETITIONER'S ATTORNEY: Pet	itioner is not represented by an attorney, <i>or</i>
NAME:	BAR#
TELEPHONE:	EMAIL:
An INTERPRETER IS NEEDED for this language: (List Names of) Persons who need interpreter: Name:	Name:
By signing below, I state to the Court under penal	Ity of perjury that the contents of this document

Case No.

NOTICE

SUBMIT THIS FORM WITH NEW CASES ONLY.

If there is already a (Pima County) Probate Court case number and you are filing in an existing Superior Court case in Pima County, DO NOT SUBMIT THIS FORM.

Person	Filing: s (if not protected):	
	ate, Zip Code:	
	one:	
	Address:	
	's Bar Number:	
	ed Fiduciary Number: enting	
Kepres	enting Sell, without a Lawyer of Attorne	y for Petitioner OR Respondent
		URT OF ARIZONA COUNTY
In the N	Matter of the Estate of:	Case Number:
		AFFIDAVIT for TRANSFER of TITLE to REAL PROPERTY
STATE	Adult	
true a	ning this affidavit, I ☐ we ☐ swear or and correct. INFORMATION ABOUT DECEDENT (affirm under penalty of perjury that its contents are the person who died).
The d	ecedent,	, died on
THE	(name)	, died on (date)
2.	PLACE OF DEATH. (Check one box)	
	At the time of death, the decedent was live. At the time of death, the decedent was not be a continuous.	ring in Pima County in Arizona, OR ot living in Pima County, but was living at:
	(city and state) and owned real proper	ty located in Pima County in Arizona.
3.	RELATIONSHIP. This is my u our	relationship to the decedent: (explain)

_	I property is:
	TEREST OF DECEDENT IN THE PROPERTY. The interest of the person who died in the I property is (list how the decedent held title to the property or other interest in the property):
loc	ALUE OF ESTATE. The assessed value in the estate of the decedent of all real property ated in this state, including any debt secured by a lien on real property, less liens and encumbrances ainst the real property as of the date of the death, does not exceed \$100,000.00.
	X MONTH REQUIREMENT. Six months have elapsed since the death, as shown in a certified by of the death certificate attached to this affidavit.
rep gra	ERSONAL REPRESENTATIVE . An application or petition for appointment of a personal resentative is not pending or has not been granted in any jurisdiction OR an application has been nted but the personal representative has been discharged or more than one year has elapsed since a sing statement has been filed and the \$100,000 limit on the value of the property has not been exceeded.
	INERAL EXPENSES. Funeral expenses, expenses of last illness, and all unsecured debts of the son who died have been paid.
	EASON WHY I AM WE ARE ENTITLED TO THE PROPERTY. The persons ning this affidavit are entitled to the real property because (check the boxes that apply):
	I am the spouse of the person who died and I am claiming the allowance in lieu of homestead (\$18, exempt property (\$7,000) and family allowance (\$12,000). (A.R.S. §§ 14-2401 through 14-2405)
	There is no surviving spouse and I am the dependent or minor child of the person who died. I am claiming the allowance in lieu of homestead (\$18,000) exempt property (\$7,000), and family allowance (reasonable allowance for maintenance of family during administration of estate, generally up to one year). (A.R.S. §§ 14-2401 through § 14-2405). All other dependent children of my deceased parent with equal or greater right than I to the property have either 1) disclaimed their entire interests in the estate, as proven by the copy of the document they signed to this effect which I am attaching to this affidavit or 2) they have signed this affidavit indicating their interest in the property.
	There is no surviving spouse and we are the dependents or minor children of the person who died. We are claiming the allowance in lieu of homestead (\$18,000) exempt property (\$7,000), and family allowance (reasonable allowance for maintenance of family during administration of estate, generally up to one year). (A.R.S. §§14-2401 through § 14-2405).

Case No.

The pe	erson who died had no will, and I am entitled to the property by law because (check one box)
	I am the spouse of the person who died;
	I am a child of the person who died and there is no surviving spouse, OR there is a surviving spouse but he or she is not my parent and the deceased had separate or community property;
	I am the parent of the person who died, and there is no surviving child, spouse or parent;
	I am a brother or sister of the person who died, and there is no surviving spouse, child or parent.
The pe	erson who died had no will, and we are entitled to the property by law because (check one
	We are children of the person who died, and there is no surviving spouse, or there is a surviving spouse but he or she is not our parent and the deceased had separate or community property;
	We are a brother(s) and/or sister(s) of the person who died, and there is no surviving spouse, child, or parent.
The pe	erson died without a will and
proper of the	erson died without a will and the people with equal or greater right than I have to the ty have assigned their entire interests in the estate to me, which is proven by the copy documents they signed to this effect that I am attaching to this affidavit or have signed idavit indicating their interest in the property.
the proven	erson died without a will and the people with equal or greater right than we have to operty have assigned their entire interests in the estate to all of us. This assignment is by the copy(ies) of the signed documents, which we attached to this affidavit, or have signed idavit indicating their interest in the property.
The pe	erson died and left a valid will giving the entire estate to me/us.
proper by the	erson died and left a valid will, and the people with equal or greater right than I have to the ty assigned their entire interest in the estate to me. This assignment is proven either copy of the signed document attached to this affidavit or I signed this affidaviting their interest in the property.
proper	erson died and left a valid will, and the people with equal or greater right than we have to the ty assigned their entire interest in the estate to us. This assignment is proven by the f the document(s) attached to this affidavit or we have signed this affidavit indicating their

Case No. _____

- **11. OTHER PERSONS.** No other person has a right to the interest of the decedent in the described property.
- **12. TAXES.** No federal or Arizona estate tax is due on the decedent's estate.

interest in the property.

Case No.

OATH OR AFFIRMATION.

Signature of Person Making Affidavit	Printed Name of Person	Date
STATE OF		
COUNTY OF		
Subscribed and sworn to or affirmed be	(date)	b
(notary seal)	Deputy Clerk or No	otary Public
I certify under penalty of p	erjury that the contents of this at	
		ffidavit are true and cor
I certify under penalty of p Signature of Person Making Affidavit	erjury that the contents of this at	
I certify under penalty of p Signature of Person Making Affidavit STATE OF	erjury that the contents of this at Printed Name of Person	
	erjury that the contents of this at	Date

Case No.	
----------	--

Signature of Person Making Affidavit	Printed Name of Person	Date	
STATE OF			
COUNTY OF			
Subscribed and sworn to or affirmed be	efore me this:(date	e)	b <u>y</u>
	<u> </u>		
(notary seal)	Deputy Clerk	c or Notary Public	_
I certify under penalty of p Signature of Person Making Affidavit	erjury that the contents of the	nis affidavit are true a	and cor
			and cor
Signature of Person Making Affidavit	Printed Name of Person		and cor
Signature of Person Making Affidavit STATE OF	Printed Name of Person		and cor
Signature of Person Making Affidavit STATE OF COUNTY OF	Printed Name of Person	Date	and cor
	Printed Name of Person Printed Name of Person	Date	

SELF-SERVICE CENTER

SMALL ESTATE AFFIDAVIT(S) OF TRANSFER

(instead of Probate)

PROCEDURES: WHAT TO DO AFTER YOU HAVE COMPLETED THE AFFIDAVIT:

1. **To collect <u>PERSONAL PROPERTY</u>:** Take the "Affidavit for Collection of All Personal Property" to the person who has the personal property (cash, bank accounts, stocks and bonds, cars, jewelry, etc.) of the person who died. If you are claiming title to a motor vehicle, the motor vehicle division will transfer title to you upon payment of any required fees.

You may also present the **Affidavit** to collect a debt owed to the person who died. If you are the surviving spouse, you may **also** use the **Affidavit** to collect wages owed to the decedent, of up to \$5000.

It is not necessary to file any papers or pay any fees to the Court to use the **Affidavit to Collect Personal Property**.

- 2. **To claim an interest in <u>REAL PROPERTY</u>(Land and Improvements):** Take the following documents to the Probate Registrar at any of the Superior Court locations listed. Note that there will be a fee to file for this process. A list of current fees is available from the Pima County Clerk of Court's website.
- Original Probate Cover sheet. (Mark #204 for "Affidavit of Succession to Realty").
- Original "Affidavit for Transfer of Real Property Title". If the estate was previously opened, write the old probate case number on the affidavit.
- Original Will if one exists or a certified copy of the Will from the court of record.
- Certified death certificate.
- Copy of the closing statement if there was a probate in a county other than Pima County.
- When completing the Affidavit for Collection of all Personal Property, the Clerk of Court cannot notarize this form.

File your papers with the Probate Registrar at the Pima County Superior Court:

110 W. Congress St., 1st Floor Superior Court Building Tucson, AZ 85701 Tel: 520-724-3200 FAX: 520-724-3531

File the original **Affidavit for Transfer of Real Property Title** and the original will. If the Probate Registrar determines that your **Affidavit** is complete, the Probate Registrar will issue a certified copy of the affidavit.

You must then record the certified copy with the county recorder in the county where the real property is located.